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Docket Control Center

ARIZONA CORPORATION COMMISSION
1200 W. Washington Street
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Re: AT&T Communications of the Mountain States, Inc., Revised Tariff (Docket
No. T-02428A-07-0067)

Enclosed please find an original and 13 copies of the responses of AT&T
Corporation of the Mountain States, Inc., (“AT&T”) to Staff’'s Second Set of Data
Requests dated May 30, 2007 in the above-referenced proceeding.

On June 7, 2007, Pamela Genung and | agreed to an extension until June 15,
2007 for AT&T to respond.

Please contact me if you have any questions or need additional information.

Sincerely,

AgSociate Director — Regulatory

Enclosures

cc: Pamela Genung (via email and Overnight Mail)
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) Arizona Docket No. T-02428A-07-067
Arizona Corporation Commission

Request No. 2

RFI No. PIG2-1

Question: Please explain and provide calculations how AT&T arrived at the initial proposed rate
for the Arizona In-State Connection Fee of $1.49 per month?

The monthly fee, which is state-specific, is determined based on the additional costs
incurred by AT&T due to the higher intrastate access rates charged by incumbent and
competitive local carriers in Arizona compared to the interstate access rates charged
by incumbent and competitive local carriers in Arizona.

Response:

The specific calculation for the initial proposed rate of $1.49 per month for the
Arizona In-State Connection Fee was previously provided in response to PJG1-10.

Responsible Person: Eileen Somerville
Senior Pricing Manager
Business Marketing
AT&T Operations, Inc.
340 Mt. Kemble Avenue, Morristown, NJ




Arizona Docket No. T-02428A-07-067
Arizona Corporation Commission
Request No. 2

RFI No. PJG2-2

Question: Please explain and provide calculations how AT&T arrives at the proposed maximum
rate for the Arizona In-State Connection Fee of $4.50 per month.

Response: For states that require a carrier to identify both a maximum rate and an initial price,
AT&T's practice has been to generally set the maximum rate at three times the initial

price.

Responsible Person: Eileen Somerville
Senior Pricing Manager
Business Marketing
AT&T Operations, Inc.
340 Mt. Kemble Avenue, Morristown, NJ




Arizona Docket No. T-02428A-07-067
Arizona Corporation Commission
Request No. 2

RFI No. PIG2-3

Question: In AT&T's response to PJG1-12, AT&T indicated that the consumer In-State
Connection Fee has been implemented in 29 states. Please confirm whether this Fee is

on an intrastate basis.

Response: Yes, the Arizona In-State Connection Fee is an intrastate charge and the In-state
Connection Fees implemented in the other 29 states are also intrastate charges.

Responsible Person: Eileen Somerville
Senior Pricing Manager
Business Marketing
AT&T Operations, Inc.
340 Mt. Kemble Avenue, Morristown, NJ




Arizona Docket No. T-02428A-07-067
Arizona Corporation Commission
Request No. 2

RFI No. PJG2-4

Question:  As a supplement to AT&T's response to PJG1-12, please provide the applicable tariff
pages and copies of Orders approving the In-State Connection Fee in the following

States:
a. Colorado
b New Mexico
C. Oklahoma
d. Texas
€. Utah
Response: The states listed above do not issue written orders for services filed in MTS tariffs.

The tariffs become effective by operation of law.

Colorado was de-tariffed effective April 1, 2006. The COISCFCURRENT.pdf file
below has the tariff sheets prior to de-tariffing and a sheet showing the Service Guide

current rate.

See the following attached files which contain applicable initial and current tariff pages
of In-State Connection Fee for the states listed above:

Colorado: Initial Tariff Colorado: Current Tariff
_:h& e
COISCFINITIAL. pdf COISCFCURRENT. pd

f

New Mexico: Initial Tariff New Mexico: Current Tariff

NMISCFINITIAL. pdf NMISCFCURRENT. pd

f

Oklahoma; Initial Tariff & Current Tariff
OKISCFINIT&CURR.
pdf




Texas: Initial Tariff Texas: Current Tariff

TXISCFINITIAL. pdf TXISCFCURRENT. pdf
Utah: Initial Tariff Utah: Current Tariff
UTISCFINITIAL. pdf UTISCFCURRENT. pd

f

Regarding the Commission’s request for copies of orders approving the In-State
Connection Fee in the above-listed states, as previously stated, we do not normally
receive written Orders for services filed in MTS tariffs. The tariffs become effective by

operation of law.

However, we did receive a notice from the Oklahoma Staff that AT&T’s tariff became
effective without Commission Order — see attached as follows:

OK Notice.. pdf

The following are the dates the tariffs became effective:
New Mexico (was effective 10/1/03)

Oklahoma (was effective 09/15/01)

Texas (was effective 07/01/04)

Utah (was effective 05/03/)

VVVV

Responsible Person: Paul Nelson
Area Manager-Regulatory Operations
External Affairs-Corp
AT&T Services, Inc.
795 Folsom Street, San Francisco, CA



Attachments to PJG2-4




Colorado: Initial Tariff




2001

MESSAGE TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICE
4.3 Two-Point Service (Cont’d)
4.3.2 Rates and Charges (Cont’d)

G. Service Charges (Cont’d)

- State Cost Recovery Charge

Rate per call(l] $ RR

A monthly service charge that is applied to AT&T Customers for in-
state long distance calls placed from a residential telephone line
or billed to a residential account. This charge reflects the cost
to AT&T of providing in-state long distance service over the
customer’s local exchange provider’s network.

Customers in AT&T’s Lifeline program and Federal Price Protection

Plan as well as those customers making less than $1.00 worth of
long distance calls a month are exempt from this service charge.

NOTE 1: See Price List for current rates.

(M)

(N)




AT&T COMMUNICATIONS OF
ALN STATES, INC.

TALN BTA

ON: 4
PAGE: 3

RELEASE: 12
oy Y, 2001 } e ey 15, 2001
MESSAGE TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICE
4.3 Service Charges
Maximum
Charge Per Call [1]
Billed to
LEC Commercial All Other
Card Cards Calls
- Customer Dialed Calling Card Station
-Customer Dialed/Automated $ .80 $ .80
-Customer Dialed and
Operator Assisted S .80 $ .80
-Customer Dialed - Operator
Must Assist $ .80 $ .80
- Operator Dialed Calling Card $ 2.10 $ 2.10
- Operator Station (Includes Real Time Rated Calls)
"~ Collect $ 2.10
- Billed to Third $ 2.17
- Sent Paid Non-Coin $ 2.10
- Sent Paid Coin $ 1.80
- Person-to-Person Includes (Includes Real Time Rated Calls)
- Sent Paid - Coin $ 3.90
- All Other Calls $ 3.90 $ 3.90 $ 3.90
- Non-Subscriber Service Charge
- Rate per call $1.30
- State Cost Recovery Charge (T)
- Rate per month $ 1.25 (M)



Colorado: Curreht Tariff



MESSAGE TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICE

4.3 Two-Point Service (Cont’d)
4.3.2 Rates and Charges (Cont’d)

G. Service Charges (Cont’d)

- In-State Cost Recovery Charge

Rate per call{l] $ RR

A monthly service charge that is applied to AT&T Customers for in-
state long distance calls placed from a residential telephone line
or billed to a residential account. This charge reflects the cost
to AT&T of providing in-state long distance and local toll calls
over the customer’s local exchange provider’s network.

Customers in AT&T’s Lifeline program and AT&T Local Customers as
well as those customers making less than $0.01 worth of long
distance calls a month are exempt from this service charge.

NOTE 1: See Price List for current rates.

Advice No. 74

(T)

(C)

(€)
()



AT&T COMMUNICATIONS OF
THE TAIN STATES, INC.

C RELEASE: 11

S Mo e XY
Vi 131«ij Py Ly

MESSAGE TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICE

4.4 AT&T SelectCall Service

4.4.1 Rates and Charges

Usage charges for completed calls are the Dial Station rates as
specified in Section 4.1.1 of this PRICE LIST.

Service Charge per call $ 1.44

4.5 Reserved For Future Use

4.7 Non-Subscriber Service Charge
4.7.1 Rates and Charges

- Rate per call

4.8 In-State Cost Recovery Charge

4.8.1 Rates and Charges

- Rate per month $ 1.13(R)

4.9 Busy Line Verification/Interrupt
4.9.1 Rates and Charges
- Verify, per occurrence

- Interrupt; per occurrence

Transmittal No. 263




Coloratd is a de-tariffed state as of 04/01/06. The In-State Connection
Fee now resides in the AT&T Consumer Serviceguide.

http://serviceguide.att.com/ratefinder/rates.cfm

State COLORADO
Plan Name AT&T In-State Connection Fee
Effective Date 04/22/2007
State Service Guide ID MCT01012MC-CO
- Jurisdiction . MonthlyFee

In-State LD - %079

Notes:

o These rates are subject to and part of the AT&T Service Guide for the offer referenced and
may be changed and/or discontinued by AT&T.


http://egi.i-i.de

New Mexico:WIni'tial Tariff




AT&T COMMUNI
THE :
e

PAGE:
RELEASE :

crober 91, EOﬁi
A2, GENERAL REGULATIONS - CONDITIONS OF OFFERING (Cont’d)

2.6 SPECIAL TAXES, FEES, CHARGES

The rate schedules of the Company in New Mexico do not include any
portion of the New Mexico gross receipts tax, county and municipal
license, occupation and franchise taxes and payments, various county
sales tax levies or municipal sales, gross receipts or other excise
taxes authorized by Chapter 26, Laws of 1972 and Chapter 16, Laws of

1975, Special Session.

Insofar as practicable, the New Mexico gross receipts tax, county and
municipal license, occupation, and franchise taxes and payments, the
various county sales tax levies and municipal taxes authorized by
Chapter 26, Laws of 1972 and Chapter 16, Laws of 1975, Special
Session, may be billed by the Company to its Customers in the areas
wherein such taxes are levied. All exemptions shall be as provided
for and limited to those detailed in the Gross Receipts and
Compensating Tax Act, the individual county sales tax acts or

municipal tax ordinances.

2.6.1 IN-STATE CONNECTION FEE

A monthly service charge will be applied to each AT&T long distance
residential customer’s account. This monthly charge is applied if a
customer has $0.01 or more of AT&T billable charges and credits on
their bill including, but not limited to, monthly recurring charges,
or minimum usage charges. This charge does not contribute towards
any applicable minimum monthly charge.

Customers in AT&T'’s Lifeline Program are exempt from this service
charge.

RATES AND CHARGES

See A2 PRICE LIST.

CUSTOMER EQUIPMENT

The design, maintenance and operation of telecommunications service,
envisions that communications will originate or terminate at a
station of the associated service. Connections of Customer
communications systems or Other Carrier Communications systems may be
made to facilities furnished by the Company for telecommunications
service, at a premises where the Customer does not originate or
terminate communications. The Company will not be responsible for
the through transmission of signals or for the quality of
transmission on such connections.

OBSOLETE SERVICES

Services referred to as obsolete are no longer suitable to meet the
current needs of the general public. They will not be furnished as a
new entire item of service to any Customer or applicant.

Information previously shown on this page now appears on Page 13.2.




AT&T COMMUNICATIONS OF LONG DLS ED 5 Ny AZAPL
THE Y STATRS, INC. ' S PAGE: !
1t RELEASE: !

Non e g I3 T
SULOLOT YLy L

A2-PL. GENERAL REGULATIONS - CONDITIONS OF OFFERING

2.6 SPECIAL TAXES, FEES, CHARGES

2.6.1 IN-STATE CONNECTION FEE

Monthly

Charge
In-State Connection Fee $1.95




New Mexiéo: Currént Tariff




AT&T COMMUNICATIONS OF
THE 5 STATES, INC.

"PAGE: 12.1
RELEASE: 2

S RER SR I A S 8

A2. GENERAL REGULATIONS -:CONDITIONS OF OFFERING (Cont’d)

2.6 SPECIAL TAXES, FEES, CHARGES

The rate schedules of the Company in New Mexico do not include any
portion of the New Mexico gross receipts tax, county and municipal
license, occupation and franchise taxes and payments, various county
sales tax levies or municipal sales, gross receipts or other excise
taxes authorized by Chapter 26, Laws of 1972 and Chapter 16, Laws of
1975, Special Session.

Insofar as practicable, the New Mexico gross receipts tax, county and
municipal license, occupation, and franchise taxes and payments, the
various county sales tax levies and municipal taxes authorized by
Chapter 26, Laws of 1972 and Chapter 16, Laws of 1975, Special
Session, may be billed by the Company to its Customers in the areas
wherein such taxes are levied. All exemptions shall be as provided
for and limited to those detailed in the Gross Receipts and
Compensating Tax Act, the individual county sales tax acts or
municipal tax ordinances.

2.6.1 IN-STATE CONNECTION FEE (N)

A monthly service charge will be applied to each AT&T long distance
residential customer’s account. This monthly charge is applied if a
customer has $0.01 or more of AT&T billable charges and credits on
their bill including, but not limited to, monthly recurring charges,
or minimum usage charges. This charge does not contribute towards
any applicable minimum monthly charge.

Customers in AT&T’s Lifeline Program are exempt from this service
charge.

RATES AND CHARGES

See A2 PRICE LIST. (N)

2.7 CUSTOMER EQUIPMENT

The design, maintenance and operation of telecommunications service,
envisions that communications will originate or terminate at a
station of the associated service. Connections of Customer
communications systems or Other Carrier Communications systems may be
made to facilities furnished by the Company for telecommunications
service, at a premises where the Customer does not originate or
terminate communications. The Company will not be responsible for
the through transmission of signals or for the quality of
transmission on such connections.

2.8 OBSOLETE SERVICES

Services referred to as obsolete are no longer suitable to meet the
current needs of the general public. They will not be furnished as a
new entire item of service to any Customer or applicant.

Information previously shown on this page now appears on Page 13.2. (M)

(M)




AT&T COMMUNICATIONS OF IO AZ-PL
THE 5 N STATES, INC. PAGE: |

RELEASE:
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A2-PL. GENERAL REGULATIONS - CONDITIONS OF OFFERING
2.6 SPECIAL TAXES, FEES, CHARGES

2.6.1 TIN-STATE CONNECTION FEE

Monthly Charge
In-State Connection Fee $0.43 (R)



Oklahoma: Initial Tariff & Current Tariff




Issued: June 1, 2004
Effective: Juuly 1, 2004

AT&T COMMUNICATIONS OF THE SOUTHWEST, INC.

MESSAGE TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICE

1.5 TWO-POINT SERVICE - (Continued)

1.5.6 Rates - (Continued)

C.

3.

Surcharges (Continued)

Transfer Service Fee

A Transfer Service Fee applies to all completed intrastate
calls and to calls to intrastate Directory Assistance when the
customer transfers to the AT&T Network from a Local Exchange
Company Network. The transfer fee is applied in addition to
any other applicable service charges or surcharges. The
service fee does not apply to calls to 800 numbers, 800
numbers, calls to SelectCall service numbers or calls
transferred to an AT&T operator by the Local Exchange Company
operator in a local service resale arrangement.

- Per Call $.75

A Monthly service charge will be applied to each AT&T long
distance residential customer’s account. This monthly charge
is applied if a customer has AT&T billable charges and credits
on their bill including, but not limited to, monthly recurring
or minimum usage charges. This charge does not contribute
towards any applicable minimum monthly charge.

Customers who have AT&T Local Telephone Service are exempt
from this charge.

Per Month
- Per Account $1.95

(NR)

(NR)



Texas: Initial Tariff




AT&T COMMUNICATIONS OF TEXAS, L.P.

Issued: Septemberﬁi4, 2001
Effective: Sop Bor 1, 2001
MESSAGE TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICE
1.5 TWO-POINT SERVICE - (Continued)
1.5.6 Rates - (Continued)
B. Service Charges - (Continued)

9. State Cost Recovery Charge (In-State Connection Fee)

A monthly charge will be applied to each AT&T long distance residential
customer’s account. This monthly charge is applied if a customer has
$1.00 or more of AT&T billable charges and credits on their bill,
including, but not limited, to, monthly recurring charges, minimum
usage, or Single Bill Fee charges. This charge does not contribute
towards any applicable minimum monthly charge.

Customers in AT&T’s Lifeline Program and Federal Price Protection Plan
are exempt from this charge. Customers who have AT&T Local Exchange
Service are also excluded from this charge.

Billing of this charge will commence on September 15, 2001, and applies
on a per-account basis.

Monthly Charge, per account: $1.95




Texas: (fﬁrrrénf"Tariff




Effective:

AT&T COMMUNICATIONS OF TEXAS, L.P.

MESSAGE TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICE

1.5 TWO-POINT SERVICE - (Continued)

1.5.6 Rates - (Continued)

B. Service Charges - (Continued)

9.

State Cost Recovery Charge (In-State Connection Fee)

A monthly service charge will be applied to each AT&T long
distance residential customer’s account. This monthly charge is
applied if a customer has AT&T billable charges and credits on
their bill, including, but not limited to, monthly recurring,
minimum usage or Single Bill Fee charges. This charge does not
contribute towards any applicable minimum monthly charge.

Customers in AT&T’s Lifeline Program are exempt from this service
charge. Customers who have AT&T Local Phone Service are also
excluded from this charge.

Monthly Charge, per account: $0.70




Utah: Initial Tariff




AT&T COMMUNICATIONS OF THE MOUNTAIN STATES, INC.
UTAH PRICE LIST
MESSAGE TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICE

PAGE: !

RELEASE:

EFFECTIVE: AY 3, ZaG4

2. MTS Schedule
2.1 DIAL STATION
PEAK OFFPEAK WEEKEND
EACH EACH EACH
MILEAGE INITIAL ADDITIONAL INITIAL ADDITIONAL INITIAL ADDITIONAL
BAND MINUTE MINUTE MINUTE MINUTE MINUTE MINUTE
0- 10 50.39 $0.39 $0.30 $0.30 $0.22 $0.22
11- 22 0.39 0.39 0.30 0.30 0.22 0.22
23- 55 0.39 0.39 0.30 0.30 0.22 0.22
56-124 0.39 0.39 0.30 0.30 0.22 0.22
125-292 0.39 0.39 0.30 0.30 0.22 0.22
293-0OVER 0.39 0.39 0.30 0.30 0.22 0.22
A. Non-Subscriber Service Charge

A service charge that applies to all Direct Dialed, Operator Handled,
Person-to-Person and Real Time Rated interLATA calls placed from
Residential and Commercial telephones not presubscribed to AT&T as
the Primary Interexchange Carrier (PIC). This service charge will
apply in addition to the initial and additional period rates as set
forth in Section 1.2.1.E.2a of this tariff. All other terms and
conditions for Residential service are contained in AT&T’s Consumer

Service Guide.

Charge per Call
$3.50

In-State Connection Fee

A monthly fee will be applied to each AT&T long distance residential
Customer’s account. This monthly charge is applied if the Customer

has AT&T billable charges on their bill, including, but not limited

to, monthly recurring charges or minimum usage charges. This charge
does not contribute towards any applicable minimum charge.

The fee does not apply to customers on the AT&T Long Distance
Lifeline plan or AT&T Local Service, if applicable.

Monthly Charge

In-State Connection Fee $ 0.69

(N)

(M)



Utah: Current Tariff



AT&T COMMUNICATIONS OF THE MOUNTAIN STATES, INC.
UTAH PRICE LIST
MESSAGE TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICE

EFFECTIVE:
2. MTS Schedule
2.1 DIAL STATION
PEAK OFFPEAK WEEKEND
EACH EACH EACH
MILEAGE INITIAL ADDITIONAL INITIAL ADDITIONAL INITIAL ADDITIONAL
BAND MINUTE MINUTE MINUTE MINUTE MINUTE MINUTE
0- 10 $0.39 $0.39 $0.30 $0.30 $0.22 $0.22
11- 22 0.39 0.39 0.30 0.30 0.22 0.22
23- 55 0.39 0.39 0.30 0.30 0.22 0.22
56-124 0.39 0.39 0.30 0.30 0.22 0.22
125-292 0.39 0.39 0.30 0.30 0.22 0.22
293-0VER 0.39 0.39 0.30 0.30 0.22 0.22
A. Non-Subscriber Service Charge

A service charge that applies to all Direct Dialed, Operator Handled,
Person-to-Person and Real Time Rated interLATA calls placed from
Residential and Commercial telephones not presubscribed to AT&T as
the Primary Interexchange Carrier (PIC). This service charge will
apply in addition to the initial and additional period rates as set
forth in Section 1.2.1.E.2a of this tariff. All other terms and
conditions for Residential service are contained in AT&T’s Consumer

Service Guide.

Charge per Call
$3.50

In-State Connection Fee

A monthly fee will be applied to each AT&T long distance residential
Customer’s account. This monthly charge is applied if the Customer
has AT&T billable charges on their bill, including, but not limited
to, monthly recurring charges or minimum usage charges. This charge
does not contribute towards any applicable minimum charge.

The fee does not apply to AT&T Local Service, if applicable. (T)

Monthly Charge

In-State Connection Fee $ 0.99 (1)



Oklahoma Notice
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Commissioner Commissioner Commissioner

Oklahoma Corporation Commission
Suite 500, Jim Thorpe Office Buikling
P.0O. Box 52000
Oklahoma City, OK 73152-2000
(405)521-4114
FAX: {405)522-3371
http:/mww.OCC State. OK.US

Joyce E. Davidson, Director
Public Utility Division

TO: Office of the Court Clerk I L E D

Administrative Law Judge Maribeth D. Snapp
Administrative Law Judge Jacqueline Miller JUL - 9 2004
FROM:  Shirley Walker 5{/\.) COURT CLERK'S OFFICE - OKS
CORPQRATION COMMISSIO
DATE: 7/9/2004 OF OKRENHEMA

SUBJECT: Cause No. PUD 200400242
AT&T Communications of the Southwest, Inc.

Please be advised that the above referenced Cause is closed. Since ne Commission Order was issued
suspending the Applicant's proposed tariffs, the tariffs became effective without Commission Order. The
tariffs are effective and this Cause is now closed.

SERVICE - ASSISTANCE - COMPLIANCE



http://ww.OCC.State.OKUS

Arizona Docket No. T-02428A-07-067
Arizona Corporation Commission
Request No. 2

RFI No. PJG2-5

Question: ~ Has AT&T's In-State Connection Fee been denied approval in any States? If so, please
identify those States and provide documentation providing the reasons(s) why the In-
State Connection Fee was denied in each of those States.

Response: No, AT&T’s In State Connection Fee has not been denied approval in any state.

Responsible Person: Eileen Somerville
Senior Pricing Manager
Business Marketing
AT&T Operations, Inc.
340 Mt. Kemble Avenue, Morristown, NJ




Arizona Docket No. T-02428A-07-067
Arizona Corporation Commission
Request No. 2

RFI No. PJG2-6

Question: Please identify and provide detailed information of any customer complaints or Orders
to Show Cause that AT&T has received in other States regarding the In-State
Connection Fee.

Response: (1) From November 2005 to the present, AT&T records show receipt of customer
complaints or customer inquiries regarding the In-State Connection Fee from the
following states where the In-State Connection Fee is assessed:

North Carolina - 1
Missouri — 1

New Jersey — 1
Ohio -1

New York - 1
Tennessee — 1
Texas — 1
Alabama -2
Louisiana - 1

In addition, AT&T records show receipt of one customer complaint and one
customer inquiry regarding the In-State Connection Fee in Arizona.

(2) The respondent reviewed the company’s internal mechanized record keeping
~system of regulatory proceedings for legacy AT&T CLECs (such as AT&T
Communications of the Mountain States, Inc.) and did not find any indication that
there has been a show cause proceeding regarding proposed or implemented In-State
Connection Fees. The search covered the time period from 2001 to the present.
Further, beyond the mechanized record keeping system, the respondent is not
personally aware of any show cause proceeding involving an In-State Connection

Fee.

Responsible Person: Eileen Somerville (regarding Response No. 1)
Senior Pricing Manager
Business Marketing
AT&T Operations, Inc.
340 Mt. Kemble Avenue, Morristown, NJ

Marshall Smith (regarding Response No. 2 )
Area Manager-Regulatory Operations
AT&T Services, Inc

One AT&T Way, Bedminster, NJ



Arizona Docket No. T-02428A-07-067
Arizona Corporation Commission
Request No. 2

RFI No. PIG2-7

Question: As a result of the In-State Connection Fee, what other Proceedings have been held in
other States? Please provide specifics and detailed information for each State.

Response: AT&T is aware of In-State Connection Fee proceedings in Washington, Missouri, and
Minnesota.

Washington: The Washington State Attorney General Consumer Protection Division
deactivated its investigation of AT&T’s In-State Connection Fee in April 2005.

Missouri: In March 2007, the Cole County Circuit Court upheld the MoPSC's order
approving AT&T’s In-State Connection Fee from MoPSC Case No. TT-2002-129
(originally $1.95 and later raised to $2.49 per month). Public Counsel had opposed the
tariff, which AT&T initially filed in August 2001. Public Counsel then appealed the
tariff's approval to Cole County Circuit Court, which affirmed the Commission in June
2003. Public Counsel later appealed to the Missouri Court of Appeals for the Western
District of Missouri, which remanded the case to the MoPSC on the ground that it had
failed to make sufficient findings of fact and conclusions of law to justify its order
approving the tariff. Acting on remand, the MoPSC took additional evidence and
approved the tariff in an order issued December 15, 2005. Public Counsel in January
2006 appealed the MoPSC's order approving the tariff. After full briefing and an oral
argument held March 8, 2007, the Cole County Circuit Court affirmed the MoPSC's order

approving the tariff.

Minnesota: Between April 2002 and January 2003, a number of carriers, including
AT&T, filed to introduce a monthly service charge for recovery of intrastate access
charges. In February 2003 the Minnesota Department of Commerce (DOC) filed
comments recommending rejection of the intrastate access recovery tariffs on grounds
that the intrastate access recovery charges were misleading and discriminatory. In
September 2003, the Commission issued an order allowing the carriers to charge a
monthly fee to certain customers for explicit recovery of intrastate access charges.

Responsible Person: Eileen Somerville
Senior Pricing Manager
Business Marketing
AT&T Operations, Inc.
340 Mt. Kemble Avenue, Morristown, NJ




Arizona Docket No. T-02428A-07-067
Arizona Corporation Commission
Request No. 2

RFI No. PJG2-8

Question: Please identify and provide supporting documentation of all nationwide competitors of
AT&T that have a similar In-State or Intrastate Connection Fee implemented.

Response: AT&T has not performed an extensive search to determine what nationwide
competitors may have a similar charge. However, AT&T is aware that nationwide
competitors that have implemented a similar charge include MCI, Embarg/Sprint and
Qwest. As examples, a tariff page from each of these carriers is provided as follows.

scan.pdf (92 KB)

Responsible Person: Eileen Somerville
Senior Pricing Manager
Business Marketing
AT&T Operations, Inc.
340 Mt. Kemble Avenue, Morristown, NJ




Attachments to PJG2-8




MC! COMMUNICATIONS SERVICES, INC. - New Hampshire P.U.C. Price List No. 3
OF NEW HAMPSHIRE d/b/a VERIZON BUSINESS SERVICES Original Page No. 6
Issued by:  Sandy Chandler, Tariff Manager

Effective: January 23, 2006 ‘
INTRASTATE TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICES PRICE LIST

SECTION B - MISCELLANEOUS

2. Payphone Use Charge
An undiscountable per call charge will appty, as described in the Company's “Service Publication and Price Guide” (The

Guide) located on the Company’s website at www venzonpusiness.com

3. Instate Access Recovery Fee

A monthly service charge that is applied to Customers subscribed to the Company for long distance services associated
with a residentiai telephone line or billed to a residential account. This charge reflects costs incurred by the Company in
providing in-state long distance service over Customer's local exchange provider’s network. Customers will be exempt from
this charge during any monthly period when company spending is less than $1.00.

Monthly recurring charge: $2.95

4. No Fault Found Dispatch Charge for Business Customers

The Customer is respensible for the payment of a No Fault Found Dispatch Charge. The charges are non-recurring, and
are charged per visit as follows:

+ Normal Working Hours : $265 per visit
¢ Qutside of Normal Working Hours : $400 per visit

SECTION C - SERVICE DESCRIPTIONS AND RATES

1. General Description of Intrastate Telecommunication Services

01 Intrastate Telecommunication Services are offered to subscribers on a Metered Use Basis.

.02 All service shall remain in effect for a minimum of thirty (30) days.
.03 A customer may provide his own dedicated faciiities 1o access the Company's terminal where such dedicated faciiities

are required.
.04 Tha Company offers its services subject to the availability of the necessary facilities and/or equipment.

2. Method of Calculation
The airline mileage between two cities can be calculated using the Vertical (V) and Horizontal (H} Coordinates as obtained

by reference to AT&T's Tariff F.C.C. No. 10 according to the following formula.

Formula:

J(V,V;)‘"HH,H_»)"
10

Where V1 and H1 correspond to the V & H coordinates of City 1; and V2and Hz correspond to the V & H coordinates of
City 2.

1 Result will always be rounded to the next highest mile,

Printed in the USA




B Schedule No. 1

Embarq Communications; inc.
Section 4

Original Page 12

4, TERMS AND CONDITIONS (Continued)

7. Payment of Charges (Continued)
3. Adjustments for Taxes, Fees, and Surcharges (Continued)
4. Carrier Cost Recovery Charge

The Company will assess a monthly $0.99 Carrier Cost Recovery
Charge. This charge helps defray The Company’s overall costs of
providing iong distance service to residential consumers.

5. Frequent Flyer Excise Charge

The Company will assess a Frequent Flyer Excise Charge, on
customers who participate in an Airines/Company Partnership
Program, based on the following formula: [Total Frequent Flyer Miles
Earned] x $0.0010 = Frequent Flyer Excise Charge (e.g., 270 total
frequent flyer miles x $0.0010 = $0.27).

6. In-State Ac har

Where applicable, the Company will assess a monthly In-State Access
Charge of up to $1.99 that is based on access costs the Company must
pay to your locat carrier to utilize local phone lines

7. Payphone Surchar

The Company will assess a Payphone Surcharge as described in
Section 6.5 of this Schedule.

Effective: September 8, 2006

Issued: September 7, 2006




Rate Schedule No. |
Section 5
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Qwest Communications Corporation
State of New Hampshire

INTEREXCHANGE TELECOMMUNICATIONS AND OPERATOR SERVICES
5. MISCELLANEOUS SERVICE OFFERINGS

52 INDEPENDENT TELEPHONE COMPANY HIGH USAGE SURCHARGE

The customer must originate and terminate at least eighty percent of their total usage of
services in a tandem owned and operated by a Regional Bell Operating Company (RBOC)
and subject to the RBOC’s tariffed access charges. Qwest will apply a surcharge per minute
of use to the number of minutes by which non-RBOC (originating and terminating) exceeds

twenty percent of the customer’s total usage of the services.

HIGH USAGE
SURCHARGE

e Per minute of use $0.03

53 RESERVED FOR FUTURE USE

Issue Date: March 30, 2006 Effective Date: March 31, 2006

Jeffrey P. Wirtzfeld
Regional Director, Public Policy
1801 California Street
Denver, Colorado 80202

NH2006-004




Arizona Docket No. T-02428A-07-067
Arizona Corporation Commission
Request No. 2

RFI No. PJG2-9

Question: Other than MCI as specified in AT&T’s response to PJG1-6, please identify and provide
‘ supporting documentation of all competitors of AT&T within Arizona that have a

similar In-State or Intrastate Connection Fee implemented.

As noted in response to PJG1-6, AT&T has not performed an exhaustive examination

Response:
of other carriers’ tariffs. The MCI tariff is the only information readily available.

Responsible Person: Pat Boyle
Area Manager-Regulatory Operations

External Affairs-Corp
AT&T Services, Inc.
340 Mt. Kemble Avenue, Morristown, NJ




